Wedding planning has been stressing me out lately.  The sheer magnitude of putting on a wedding hit me one day and made me panic just a little bit.  I’m not one of those women who has been dreaming of their wedding day since age 5, nor am I one of those women who enjoys being a hostess.  I have no idea how to plan a party, let alone an event as important and large as a wedding.  On top of that, I really don’t like being the center of attention.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not shy nor am I afraid to speak in front of a crowd.  I just don’t like being the “main event”, if you will.  I’m very private when it comes to my personal life.  After I acknowledged these two personality quirks, I questioned my sanity in wanting a good old-fashioned wedding.  What was I thinking?!?  What’s wrong with a Vegas wedding?  But it’s too late to consider that.  Too much money has been spent, invitations have been ordered, plane tickets have been purchased.  I’m over-the-moon excited to marry my best friend and I didn’t want to put a damper on our special day (or the days leading up to it) by having a bad attitude about it.  So instead of fretting so much, I decided to talk to God about it:

Phil 4:6: Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

I know this Bible verse by heart, but getting it into my thick head is usually the problem.  Immediately, God gave me peace.  He reminded me that first of all, He is in charge.  Whew, good thing because my life would be a mess without Him!  Then He reminded me that the people who will be coming to our wedding are friends and family.  Each one of them is special to us in some way.  It’s not like we’ll be the center of attention in front of a bunch of strangers.  They’re all loved ones who care for us and are there to support us.  Same goes for my hostess anxiety: our guests are loved ones.  They are there to celebrate with us, not to critique and complain about every little detail of the wedding.  It’s going to be o.k. because at the end of it all, we’ll be married!  I’m so thankful that God is in control of it all.  I’m not going to lie:  I’m still much more excited about just being married to Eric than for the wedding day itself, but I think that’s o.k..  Especially now that I have been given a better perspective on our wedding day… We’re just so blessed to have so many people who want to celebrate with us!

