That’s what I would like to be.  I have three debts in my life: student loans, car, and credit card, and it drives me crazy!  Granted, two of them were unavoidable, since I needed both a degree and a car to get my job, but the credit card was totally pointless.  Well, maybe not totally, since I had no money in college and had to eat somehow…so I suppose I can excuse some of that debt since I wasn’t able to find myself a sugar daddy to supplement my minimum wage income (kidding!).   And together, the three debts total less than most people’s school loans alone, but still.  I hate being in debt!  It’s like having a little black cloud that follows you, and it ties up way more of my paycheck than I want it to.  Between paying off debt and building savings/retirement accounts, I have very little in the “fun fund”.  “Want to travel to South America this summer?”  “Yes, but I have to be responsible instead.”   No es divertida para mí.  Eric half-jokingly says that we’re just storing up our treasures in Heaven rather than on earth like it says in Matthew 6 ( 19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.)

Oh, Argentina. We'll meet someday...

However, I don’t want to make it sound like I’m just feeling sorry for myself.  The life decisions I have made have some financial baggage that come with them, and I’m ok with that.  I wouldn’t be where I am today without a little debt, and I like where I am.  I am also very grateful that Eric doesn’t have any debt beyond a pickup that is nearly paid off.  When that is taken care of, we’re planning on starting the Dave Ramsey method of eliminating my debt – the snowball payments (I really don’t know what the exact name of his method is since I’ve never taken his classes…hope I don’t get in trouble for that).  We’ll apply everything Eric was paying towards his pickup to my smallest debt, pay that off quickly, and move everything that went toward that debt to the next smallest one, etc…  We should be completely debt free in five years, at the very latest.  Realistically, it could be more like three years (hopefully we’ll buy a house by then, but I’m ok with a reasonable mortgage).

With all that being said, I was a little taken aback when one of Eric’s coworkers had suggested we put our entire honeymoon on a credit card.  Really?!?  With the financial and political climate the way it is right now (and has been for the last few years), I can’t believe anybody would still have that mindset!   Yes, we want to have an amazing wedding and an even better honeymoon, but not if it’s out of our budget.  I absolutely refuse to go into any kind of debt for this wedding.  If that means a smaller wedding or a honeymoon in Montana, so be it.  I’m ok with that.   We’ll travel when we can truly afford it.  Are we the only ones that are really alright with living within our means?  I sure hope not…

P.S. Sorry for the rant.

