While planning your wedding, did anyone else have that feeling of being totally overwhelmed?  That feeling hit me like a truck on Friday.  The first part of the day was great.  I met my mom and my maid of honor Erika at the bridal shop to look for gowns.  I ended up being helped by a girl I knew from high school, so the whole experience was fun and exciting.  I didn’t walk away with a dress, but I’m 95% sure I found the one I want.  Actually the “one” I want is a hybrid of two different dresses.  I loved the body of one, but loved the top of another and fortunately they were both done by the same designer who is willing to custom make dresses.  The sketch should come in within the next few weeks, so I’ll get to decide if I want to go ahead and purchase it then.  Turns out the dress I like is nothing like what I thought I wanted.  While looking for inspiration, my eye would always be drawn towards dresses that looked like this:

A no-no for Andrea

Turns out this style makes me look wide and squatty.   I also tried on a tea-length dress, and I might as well have been my own flower girl  because it made me look about 10 years old.  I’m not going to tell you what mine looks like; I’m saving that surprise for the wedding.   But I can tell you it’s neither of these styles.

The second part of the day didn’t go quite as well.  I should have known better than to plan a full day of wedding stuff, because I’m really a terrible shopper and I had already been at it for two hours.  That’s a quick way to make me fussy.  Anyway, we met up with my mom’s friend Kevin, who is going to be our day-of coordinator.  His aunt owns a party supply store, so we went there to talk about ideas for decor (centerpieces, etc…).  She was very good about listening to my “vision” (I think I have to call it that…but it’s really more of a blurry mess of ideas).  She started brainstorming some ideas and I was impressed with how she could just come up with things on the spot.  Unfortunately, I was not in the mood for anything wedding related at that point, so I wasn’t having any of it.  I finally just told her “I’m really sorry, but I’ve hit the wall.  I need a break!”  She was great about understanding where I was coming from.  We agreed to re-convene in the fall when wedding season dies down a bit and we can sit down and really hash things out.  After that meeting, I had a very mild panic moment where all I could think was “I’m never going to get this together, my decorations will look tacky, it won’t go smoothly, everyone’s going to hate this, etc…” but fortunately my mom was able to talk some sense into me.  She just told me “Andrea, it will be fine.  You have a year to plan, and besides that, it’s not about what everyone else thinks.  As long as you and Eric are married and happy, that’s what counts.”  She also pointed out that maybe, just maybe, I was looking at too many wedding blogs and magazines.  It’s hard not to feel like your wedding ideas are inadequate when you see all these gorgeous, $50,000 magazine-worthy weddings every day.  Good point, ma.  Whew.  That’s the reality check I needed.  I think our wedding will be amazing because it’s our wedding.  I get to marry my best friend and that’s what I’m over-the-moon excited about.

Did anyone else have a similar freak-out?  What did you do to calm your nerves?

