Eric gave me the best (early) birthday present ever on Wednesday.  He bought tickets for the Lyle Lovett and Willie Nelson concert, which was incredible.  But the best part of the night was actually getting to meet Lyle Lovett himself!

The man himself

He is one of my all time favorite musicians, so I was really excited and nervous to meet him.  I quickly let him know that I was a big fan and before I could go on, he made sure to get Eric’s and my names.  He was very gracious, even though I went a little fangirl on him.  I thought I sounded something like “HiMrLovettI’mareallybigfancanIgetapicturewithyou!”, but Eric said I was a little more composed than that, which is a relief.  Before he left, he thanked us for coming.  Apparently after that, I was glowing.  I’m an even bigger fan now that I’ve met him.

It was a lot of fun to see Lyle Lovett and his Large Band (aptly named), since last time I saw him he was with an acoustic trio.  The shows were a lot different, but both pretty amazing.  Willie Nelson was great because he’s Willie Nelson.  He played nearly all of his hits, which were a lot of fun to hear.  What’s not to love?  Here are a few pictures from the show:

Lyle Lovett and His Large Band

Singing the old fashioned way - with one mic

Willie Nelson and the Family Band

*Pictures by emjonesphotography

