So it would probably be good to start with some basic information. Eric and I just got engaged on June 20, 2011, but who am I kidding? Everybody saw this coming from a mile away! So, needless to say, we’ve been doing a little bit of “pre-planning”, if you will. I’ll get to that information in later posts. I figured I should probably dedicate this post to the “Proposal Story” (awwww…). So here goes:

Eric and I went to Missoula to see a concert of one of my favorite artists – Ray Lamontagne and his band, The Pariah Dogs.

I think I was meant to quit my job and be their roadie...

He was playing with another artist: Brandi Carlile (she’s pretty incredible, by the way).

Can cover Johnny Cash and do it well.

This show was so good that I want to quit my job, buy a Volkswagon Bus, and follow them around the country. Anyway, I digress.

We didn't quite make it this far. Stupid snakes.

We were staying with my cousin in Hamilton and decided that since we had some time to kill before the show and it was such a beautiful day, we would go for a hike. The Canyon Creek Trailhead in Bloggett Canyon is only about 10 minutes from her house, so we drove up there and hiked. It was a great trail: rushing creek, beautiful mountain views, etc…  It was great up until the second snake we ran across.  That’s about the time we decided we had gone just far enough.  So, we went back down the trail and started driving to town.

At a clearing in the trees, Eric wanted to stop and take some pictures of the valley below. He brought his tripod and asked me to stand so he could adjust the camera to get us both in the picture. I wasn’t paying attention (not unusual for me), and when I turned around, he was next to me on his knee and holding a ring box. To be honest, I don’t remember what he said because I was so excited. I think I said something like “Eric! What are you doing!” as if I was the only person in the world who didn’t know what the single-leg kneel was going to lead up to. Of course I said yes, and he had to remind me that there was a ring involved in this process and he would like to be able to put it on my finger, so I needed to stop hugging and kissing him for just 30 seconds.

Fortunately, Eric had set up his camera to automatically take pictures every 30 seconds, so we have documentation of the whole thing. Very creative guy! You may be asking yourself “Well, if there is evidence of this event, where is it?” Valid question. 99% of the pictures we have are taken by Eric, so they are just sitting at his house waiting to be uploaded. I promise I will post them as soon as I can! Ladies: ring pictures will be included.

Update:  got the pictures! (Note: these aren’t staged.  Somehow Eric’s camera got the exact pictures we wanted.  Pretty amazing!)

I was not expecting this!

"Oh yeah! The ring! I forgot!"

Awww, precious!

